Self Care

Yesterday,  after I’d finished work,  I was absolutely shattered. I could honestly have gone straight to bed, but instead of doing that,  I ran myself a nice hot bath, threw in some of the amazing bath petals my mum had got me, and settled in for a long soak and a good read of my book.

Aside from one of the cats sitting and staring at me intently,  it was blissfully peaceful and I felt much better afterwards.

wp-image-2023100381jpg.jpg

Hitomi likes to make sure I’m OK – even when I’m in the bath!

It’s important to take time for yourself every now and then, and something as simple as relaxing in the bath can make the world of difference.

I sometimes like to treat myself to a coffee at the local coffee shop (and maybe a cake…but don’t tell anyone!) and sit by the window in my own little bubble of tranquility, watching the world go by.

I’ve recently had a stinking cold, and on one of the days I was feeling particularly rough, I stayed in bed and watched films with plenty of tea on hand.

It’s nice to get out of the house, even if it’s just for a little walk down the high street – the fresh air makes me feel revitalised. I’m looking forward to the less rainy days so I can go and explore more of the beautiful countryside around where I live.

I have been known to take myself off to the nearest big city and treat myself to dinner at my favourite restaurant. Food is good for the soul!

Self care isn’t necessarily about treating yourself though, more about treating yourself carefully and with respect.

Learning to say ‘no’ – that’s self care. It’s easy to be taken advantage of, and if you don’t feel able to commit to those extra hours they push on you at work, or if you don’t feel like that night out and you’d rather stay in with the cars and a cup of hot chocolate – learn to say ‘no’ (without being rude, of course!).

This past year has taught me a lot about myself, and other people. I’ve realised that it’s OK to stand up for myself, and I’ve learned to distance myself from negative people. I have no time or room in my life for that.

Looking after yourself isn’t being selfish, and I think that a lot of people struggle with that idea. It’s OK to take time for you. The housework isn’t going anywhere, so why not just take 10 minutes to listen to what your body and mind needs? Don’t feel guilty about it.

February’s Buddy Box from the Blurt Foundation is back in stock – treat yourself, or someone you care about!

How do you implement self care?  I’d love to hear from you!

One thought on “Self Care

Comments are closed.